Connect with us


Iwobi, Musa, Oshoala, 2 Others Nominated For CAF Awards



Nigeria’s Super Eagles resurgence under manager Gernot Rohr appears not to have gone unnoticed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

This was after four players from the national team were nominated for CAF awards with Rohr also making the list.

While attacking trio of Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo were shortlisted for Player of the Year, Wilfred Ndidi dropped to the Young Player’s version.


Coach Rohr, meanwhile, will compete for the Coach of the Year honours despite being German.

The Super Eagles’ official Twitter handle made this known on Friday afternoon.

Under Rohr’s tutelage, Nigeria qualified for the World Cup and Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in an impressive manner.

At the Mundial in Russia, Musa was his country’s most important player, scoring two goals as well as some crucial strikes en route to Cameroon.

Although Ighalo and Iwobi didn’t enjoy the same quality time at the World Cup, they returned with points to prove – evident in their remarkable showing during the AFCON qualifiers.

Ndidi, meanwhile, has cemented his place as one of his country’s untouchables with solid displays.