October 21, 2020

ONDO2020: INEC Declares Rotimi Akeredolu Winner

The incumbent Governor in Ondo State Rotimi Akeredolu has been declared winner of the October 10, 2020 governorship election.

The vice chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Prof Idowu Olayinka, who served as INEC Returning Officer, declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC) winner with 292,830.

The Governor won 15 of the 18 Local Government Area results declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

Akeredolu cruised to victory having recorded 292,830 votes, while his closest challenger and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Eyitayo Jegede has 195,780 votes.

Two LGA results are being awaited at the INEC collation centre in Akure, the State capital.

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Eyitayo Jegede polled 195,791 while Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) scored 69,127 votes.